Recent Searches
Clear

Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

|
Athina, Greece
Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...


icon1 day  (approx.)
Pickup from select hotels
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more

Overview

Combine two popular tours of Athens and Cape Sounion into one day at a discounted price with this Athens Super Saver. In the morning, board an air-conditioned coach for a sightseeing tour of Athens’ highlights. With an expert guide, stroll around the Parthenon and antiquities on the Acropolis; visit the New Acropolis Museum; see the Panathenaic Stadium and more. Then, take an afternoon trip to Cape Sounion, where the Temple of Poseidon overlooks the Aegean Sea. Admire the glittering temple and stellar views before your return by coach to Athens.
  • Enjoy two best-selling Athens experiences at one discounted price with this Super Saver
  • Discover fascinating archeological findings from ancient Greece at the Acropolis Museum
  • Take a scenic half-day trip to Cape Sounion’s stunning Temple of Poseidon overlooking the Aegean Sea
  • Entrance fees and round-trip transport by air-conditioned coach included
Saved to wishlist!
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Free Wifi on the coach
Hotel pickup and drop-off (selected hotels only)
Entrance fees to Acropolis , Museum , Sounio
English speaking daily , bilingual English/French every Monday,Wednesday,Friday
Gratuities
Lunch
Pick up from Piraeus port, airport, airbnb and apartments
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Leoforos Vasilisis Amalias 10 , Leoforos Vasilisis Amalias 10, Athina 105 57, Greece

Hotel Amalia Athens, Syntagma square, opposite the National Garden

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

8:30 AM
This activity will end right where it started.pick up starts 07:30 to 08:20 08:30 it is not pick up time from Any Hotel but the DEPARTURE time of the tour.
Morning Athens Sightseeing Tour:
 Begin your morning Athens sightseeing tour with a pickup from your Athens hotel, or alternatively, at a meeting point in central Athens.

Relax into your air-conditioned coach and drive to the Acropolis, the ancient citadel of Athens perched high above the city on a rocky outcrop. Head through the gates with your guide, and stroll around the top Acropolis attractions, including the Temple of Athena Nike, Propylea, Erechtheion, and the spectacular Parthenon.

Having explored these classical masterpieces, continue to the Panathenaic Stadium, the arena that hosted the first modern Olympic Games in 1896. Snap photos of the all-marble stadium and then drive to the Tomb of the Unknown Soldier at the Greek Parliament House in Syntagma Square.

Admire the handsome government buildings around the square, and then head along Panepistimiou Street, one of Athens’ main avenues. See St. Dionysius Cathedral with its arcaded portico, and pass the elegant buildings of the University of Athens, National Library, and Academy of Athens.

Lastly, pay a visit to the New Acropolis Museum, the ultra-modern museum that houses many of the classical statues, friezes, and artifacts recovered from the Acropolis. After viewing the highlights here, conclude your sightseeing tour, and enjoy free time to relax or have lunch (own expense) at a local taverna before your afternoon tour.


Afternoon Cape Sounion Trip:
 Reconvene with your coach and leave Athens behind as you journey south to Cape Sounion. As you travel, admire the beautiful beaches of the Saronic Gulf and hear tales of the Cape and its showpiece: the glimmering white Temple of Poseidon.

On arrival, leave your coach and walk up to the temple, built high on cliffs overlooking the Aegean Sea. Take in the awesome sea views and if it’s clear weather, gaze out over the island of Kea in the distance.
 Admire the Doric columns of the ancient temple and hear about the Greek myths that surround the building. Then, see the inscription made on one of the columns by the English poet Lord Byron in the early 1800s.

 Afterward, travel back to Athens where your tour ends at your hotel or the original start point.
Itinerary
Stop At:  
Acropolis
Acropolis
Duration: 1 hour 30 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
Hellenic Parliament
Parliament
Stop At:  
Parthenon
Acropolis area
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Panathenaic Stadium
Olympic stadium
Duration: 15 minutes
Admission Ticket Not Included
Pass By:  
Tomb of the Unknown Soldier
Memorial
Stop At:  
Erechtheion
Acropolis area
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Temple of Athena Nike
Acropolis area
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
Stop At:  
Temple of Poseidon
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
The Academy of Athens
University
Stop At:  
Acropolis Museum
Duration: 1 hour 
Admission Ticket Included
Pass By:  
The Academy of Athens
Pass By:  
National Library of Greece
Stop At:  
Propylaea
Acropolis area
Duration: 5 minutes
Admission Ticket Included
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • No tours on Christmas Day, New Years Day and Orthodox Easter
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • Your guide will give you your entry tickets to the sites and museums
  • Port , airport or private apartment pickup are not available
  • Very important: Children , students aged 5 to 12 years old must hold passport or ID in order to get the discounted price. Otherwise they will pay entrance ticket to the Archaelogical sites or Museums.
  • Mask: is mandatory for clients and staff in the bus and closed museums
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 49 travelers
  • OPERATED BY CHAT Tours
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.

Learn more about cancellations.


Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips


  • "This tour is a must if you want to have a well-informed professional guide to take you to the Acropolis and the most important museums ." See review
  • "Overall, it was a long day but well worth it." See review
  • "It can get very crowded with other tourists at times." See review

Reviews by Viator travelers.  We perform checks on reviews

Reviews

4.0
star-4
137 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

We perform checks on reviews

Showing 1-10 of 137 reviews
star-5
Excellent tour around Athens
TiffanyL_J
, Aug 2022
Great history behind Athens and our tour guides explained it very well. What an amazing experience to see. You have to book this tour!
star-5
Best deal for your money
Miralyn
, Jul 2022
The whole tour is great for what you pay for. Cheaper than other tours. Our tour guide Iota(her short name) made sure she didn't lose anyone.. Great experience over all. Would highly recommend this tour. Miralyn Toronto
star-4
Acropolis and museum
Raktim_S
, Jul 2022
Awesome tour both of Acropolis, and the museum with Avekios. The tour started and ended on time. Very professional and knowledgeable.
star-5
GO! GO!
Shelina_H
, May 2022
We loved our tour guide! She is was so nice and knowledgeable. The views were beautiful. I highly recommend! The bus was also comfortable.
star-5
This tour was amazing...
Nikki_P
, May 2022
This tour was amazing with views of all the sights. The tour guide was knowledgeable and fun and included everything. If time is limited in Athens, you could skip the Temple of Poseidon portion and still feel accomplished.
star-2
Save your money
Allanah_M
, May 2022
If going on the full day tour you should know that you don’t get back until about 6:30pm. Overall, the tour was boring and not very informative or organized. One positive was skipping all the lines but there was a lot of time just riding around on a bus. It would’ve been cheaper to go to all of the sites on our own.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Lovely day
Ray_C
, Oct 2021
Great day. Great guide. Wonderful value for the money. Many great memories made in this tour. Highly recommend.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-3
Meh....
Anthony_G
, Oct 2021
Eh. Nothing to write home about.. Was ok but not worth the money. I would do more research next time.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2021
Dear client, We are thanking you for your feedback. You participated in 2 tours Morning Athens sightseeing and afternoon Cape Sounio tour with two different guides with discounted price due to super saver. Can you clarify what happened and you rate the tours not worth for money please as same tour date when your returned from the afternoon tour you send us immidiatelly 2 refund requests, one for dublicate booking which was wrong and the second one for partial refund as you required to pay the winter price Euro 102 which was wrong too. So we really want to know what was wrong on the tours . We are expecting your reply, Many thanks in advance, Hara Kritikidou Customer Service Manager
star-4
Great opportunity to learn from amazing guides!
Catherine_K
, Oct 2021
My family booked the half day Athens city tour and a half day trip to Cape Sounion. Both tour guides were amazing and their personalities fit perfectly for the type of trip. One thing to note is that it really is 2 different tours so you have to check in a few times but really that wasn't that bad! I would have loved to spend a little more time in the museum but because it was the end of the 1st day and we needed time for lunch, we weren't able to spend more than 15 minutes wandering around after the tour concluded.
2 travelers found this review helpful
star-5
Great tour, and include the cape sounion if you have the time!
Christopher_A
, Oct 2021
This was a very well organized tour and got a lot accomplished. Make sure you pay attention to what they stop at and what they pass by. I was aware, but others weren’t on the tour and complained about why we weren’t stopping at certain things. Those are probably the people who leave bad reviews. Probably their first time going on a group tour as well. The guides were very friendly and provided great information. In fact, they provided too much information at times. Not like that’s a bad thing, but sometimes it’s nice to not have to wait forever and move on with the tour. Least of my worries. I added the additional trip to cape sounion, which I loved. You have about an hour and a half break in between to grab some lunch. The ride is about 90 minutes there, and maybe 2 hours back due to rush hour. It was not during sunset, so you’d have to book a different trip for that. The drive along the coast is gorgeous and while some people find Poseidon’s temple boring and not worth the trip, I disagree. The views are worth it alone. Great price for everything you get to see and lines you get to cut!
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-2
The tour guide had...
Jarryd_H
, Sep 2021
The tour guide had negative energy, very sarcastic and came off as rude. A bit of an nasty attitude.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear client, As you had 2 guides ,one in the morning and one in the afternoon , please clarify which of two was negative in order to investigate your complain. Thank you Hara Kritikidou Customer Service Manager
star-3
We did both the all da,y...
denise_l
, Sep 2021
We did both the all da,y Parthenon and midday temple Of Poseidon Granted they can’t control the weather but dang! Bring umbrellas, fans anything to help cool you off they stand smack dab in the sun We were a group of 6 ages 18-37 but too much info for us on Parthenon tour Poseidon was much better not too bad
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Denise, Thank you for your review ! Our professional guides try to give you in one day all information for the places as our tours include visits to the most important sites of Greece. Hope that you enjoyed your day in Athens. Regards Hara
star-4
Wonderful tour
Dorothea_M
, Sep 2021
It was a wonderful tour in its content and the guide was super experienced and knowledgeable but she tried to impart too much knowledge to us and over whelmed us with detail. The whole day tour was well worth the money and we thoroughly enjoyed the afternoon drive to cape sounion with a different guide.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-4
Beautiful day in Athens
Elisabeth_N
, Sep 2021
The trip is beautiful and a great way to travel. The application for speaking in the museum is time delayed and very hard to hear. The guide was fine when we listened without the app.
star-5
Great Time.
Dakota_S
, Aug 2021
Tour guide was very knowledgeable and told great stories about each site and added history. great way to see a lot of historic Athens at once.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Awesome!
Sarah_W
, Jul 2021
It was a lot of fun! Plenty of time to see everything and the tour guide was really nice too! I would definitely do it again. :)
star-4
Amazing
Diane_W
, Jul 2021
Wow! Visiting theAcropolis, then seeing it at the museum was amazing. Demetra was our guide and Costas was the driver-great morning and on time. Cape Sunion with Nancy and Costas was breathtaking. Pickup and drop off included and well worth the price. However, TripIt had noise interference so we just stayed close to our guide.
star-5
Amazing Experience
Paige_K
, Jul 2021
Visiting the Parthenon was incredible and my favorite part of the trip. Our tour guide. Nancy, was very informative of all of the sites we were seeing. I learned so much and would definitely recommend this to someone who is visiting Athens!
star-5
Beautiful seaside views
Trail229708
, Nov 2019
CHAT Tours was the tour group. Weather for great for excursion both am and pm. The guide for the AM was very knowledgeable and shared great information regarding history, got us to areas when people volume low. Advised us on best areas at sites to do pictures. Excellent guide for the Archeological Museum. Gave very good instructions for meeting back at bus. Afternoon in Sounion was picturesque. Beautiful seaside views from Athens to Sounion and back. The afternoon guide provided good info & communicated meeting places.
1 traveler found this review helpful
star-5
Great history lesson
Claire_T
, Sep 2019
Guide was Very knowledgeable and funny. Really enjoyed the tour. Was a long trip to Temple of Poseidon I'd recommend doing something else there not just the temple.
icon Response from Host , Oct 2019
Hello from Chat Tours, We would like to thank you for your great review . Your comments push us to set new goals and continue our hard work. We hope to see again in Athens and offer you our high-quality services. Always at your disposal, Angelina Skyla.

Why you are seeing these recommendations

Compare Similar Experiences

Current
Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip
Athens Super Saver: City Sightseeing Tour plus Half-Day Cape Sounion Trip

star-4137

1 day

Free Cancellation

From
$107.61
Why you are seeing these recommendations

Explore Similar Things to Do

Why you are seeing these recommendations