Recent Searches

Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Athina, Greece
Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens

Select Date and Travelers

Number of travelers
0 Adults1 Adult2 Adults3 Adults4 Adults5 Adults6 Adults7 Adults8 Adults9 Adults10 Adults11 Adults12 Adults13 Adults14 Adults15 Adults0 Children1 Child2 Children3 Children4 Children5 Children6 Children7 Children8 Children9 Children10 Children11 Children12 Children13 Children14 Children15 Children0 Infants1 Infant2 Infants3 Infants4 Infants5 Infants6 Infants7 Infants8 Infants9 Infants10 Infants11 Infants12 Infants13 Infants14 Infants15 Infants
Free cancellation
Up to 24 hours in advance. Learn more
Loading available options...

Safety measures
icon4 hours  (approx.)
Hotel pickup offered
Mobile ticket
iconOffered in: English and 1 more


Marvel over one of Greece’s most photographed monuments on this half-day tour to the Temple of Poseidon from Athens. Wind your way along the coastal cliffs and beaches on the scenic drive to Cape Sounion, then grab your camera as you spot the magnificent remains of the Temple of Poseidon, perched high on the sea cliffs. You have a chance to get up close to the ancient monument, explore ruins dating back to 444 BC, and soak up the impressive coastal views.
  • Half-day tour to Cape Sounion and the Temple of Poseidon from Athens
  • Enjoy stunning coastal views as you drive to Cape Sounion
  • Explore the famous ruins of the Temple of Poseidon
  • Learn more about the ancient Greek monument from your English-speaking guide
  • Great-value tour includes pick-up and drop-off from selected Athens hotels
Saved to wishlist!
Hotel pickup and drop off (selected hotels only)
Professional guide
Air-conditioned vehicle
Entrance ticket to Temple of Poseidon (Sounio)
French speaking every Monday,Wednesday,Friday and Sunday.
Food and drinks, unless specified
Pick up from Piraeus port, airport, airbnb and apartments
This operator has two meet-up options available. You can either meet at the departure point below or select a location for pick-up.
Hotel Amalia Athens , Leoforos Vasilisis Amalias 10, Athina 105 57, Greece

One corner away from central metro station Syntagma, opposite the National Garden entrance.

Hmm...we can’t seem to find this place. Please check the spelling, or choose another location.

3:00 PM
This activity will end right where it started.We are not providing pick up service from air bnb or private apartments but upon confirmation we will pick you up from the closest hotel.
  • Confirmation will be received at time of booking
  • IMPORTANT: Due to existing Civid 19 protocols please have with your copy of your Vaccination or PCR test
  • Not wheelchair accessible
  • Near public transportation
  • Infants must sit on laps
  • French speaking available ONLY on Mon-Wed-Fri-Sat
  • Very important: Children , students aged 5 to 18 years old must hold passport or ID in order to get the discounted price. Otherwise they will pay entrance ticket to the Archaelogical sites or Museums
  • Guides allowed only through the mobile App to guide in the archaeological sites and museums
  • Port or private apartment or airbnb pickup are not available
  • Mask: is mandatory for clients and staff
  • Social distancing: Maintain distance of 1.5 meters
  • Most travelers can participate
  • This tour/activity will have a maximum of 40 travelers
You can cancel up to 24 hours in advance of the experience for a full refund.
  • For a full refund, you must cancel at least 24 hours before the experience’s start time.
  • If you cancel less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time, the amount you paid will not be refunded.
  • Any changes made less than 24 hours before the experience’s start time will not be accepted.
  • Cut-off times are based on the experience’s local time.
  • This experience requires good weather. If it’s canceled due to poor weather, you’ll be offered a different date or a full refund.
  • This experience requires a minimum number of travelers. If it’s canceled because the minimum isn’t met, you’ll be offered a different date/experience or a full refund.

Learn more about cancellations.

The answers provided below are based on answers previously given by the tour provider to customers’ questions.
What is the policy on face masks and attendee health during Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens?
A:The policies on face masks and attendee health are:

  • Face masks required for travelers in public areas
  • Face masks required for guides in public areas
See all safety measures taken by Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens.
What is the policy on sanitization during Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens?
A:The policy on sanitization is:

  • Transportation vehicles regularly sanitized
See all safety measures taken by Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens.
What is the social distancing policy during Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens?
A:The policy on social distancing is:

  • Social distancing enforced throughout experience
See all safety measures taken by Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens.

Traveler Photos

See More
See More

Traveler Tips

  • "If you want to see sunset at the temple, choose a tour which is specifically timed for sunset because the standard afternoon tours leave a little too early." See review
  • "People that are not mobile need to take this into consideration and make sure the bus will pick them up." See review


461 Reviews

Reviews by Viator travelers

Showing 1-10 of 461 reviews
Excellent guide
, May 2022
The best part of the trip was our guide, Effie. She made the outbound ride fly by with her commentary and great knowledge of the topic. The scenery helps distract from the traffic on the return trip.
Great photo op tour!
, May 2022
Drive along the Riveria coast outside of Athens and of course viewing the temple of Poseidon. Tour guide was very informative.
Great relaxing tour just outside Athens
, May 2022
It was our first time and tour in Athens. Very relaxing ride outside Athens after our long flight from the U.S. Tour guide was very knowledgeable and explained all the places we went to. Would highly recommend.
Five Star Tour - Courtesy of Hotel Pick and Drop Off Most Convenient for first time visitors
, May 2022
Excellent travel and guide experience to an archaeological site of spectacular natural beauty. Highly Recommended Tour
Very rushed tour
, Apr 2022
The place is worth more time than this tour offers. I think 1 hour & 20 minutes at that place is definitely not enough. According to the Greek people the place offers the second most beautiful sun set after Santorini in Greece. Unfortunately this tour does not include sunset despite showing pictures of sunset at the description. I felt the tour was super rushed. The atmosphere was stressful and the fact that tour guide was explaining history in two languages french and English made the tour very noisy. I would not choose this tour again.
Perfect half day trip
, Apr 2022
The guide was really knowledgeable and provided information about the entire area we traveled through to get to Sounion as well as the Monument. It made the trip go by fast and was really interesting.
Do not miss to see the Temple of Poseidon.
, Apr 2022
Anastasia, our guide was very articulate and really gave us a good story about the the Temple of Poseidon. We were picked up from our hotel, no fuss. While on the way, the guide was also giving information about the notable places we pass by. When we reached the site, Anastasia was with us until the entrance and two places inside the area to give us more stories about the temple. The tour DOES NOT include the sunset - and this was clear on the description. If you are a fan of ancient Greek mythologies, even without the sunset, the place is worth seeing.
2 travelers found this review helpful
, Mar 2022
I expected more but it was fine. It was 1 1/2 hour drive and back. We were looking forward to the sun set but that didn't hapoen. I believe it was over priced for what we got. Tour director was fine but just a drive and back. Would not recommend it
icon Response from Host , Mar 2022
Dear client , We are thanking you for your review and we are suprized as you didn't mentioned that guide in the bus start to guide in the bus for Sounio and then paid your tickets and entered with you in the archaelogical site, guided the Temple of Poseidon which is the focus of this tour, gave you free time for photos before the return back to Athens. Also sunset never included in the tour as from the first time of the booking you were informed that tour starts at 14:30 and return back to Athens at 18:30 so it was impossible to see sunset on above mentioned times. Thank you Hara Kritikidou Customer Service Manager
Fabulous experience!
, Feb 2022
Site is breathtaking…Tour guide knowledge, personable, and conveyed history with great passion - very captivating!
1 traveler found this review helpful
, Feb 2022
Seamless pickup, on time and place. Interesting drive, with the Very knowledgeable guide explaining about the Ancient Greek history along the way. Beautiful and stoning sites.
Great Experience!
, Oct 2021
This was such a wonderful trip. Exactly what I needed after a hard day at work. Once we were on our way, our guide started talking about Ancient Greece. She's so well-versed and passionate about Greek history, it shows! I'm so happy I was able to enjoy this experience.
Good experience
, Oct 2021
The van was comfortable and the tour guide seemed enthusiastic and knowledgeable. She provided a lot of background history during the drive, which provided good context for the actual site.
, Sep 2021
2 hours before the tour they told us we would need a vaccine card or negative covid test in order to come on the tour. We don't have either so weren't able to come. We asked for a refund or a different day to give us time to get a covid test. They denied us and didn't refund the $306 euros we paid.
icon Response from Host , Sep 2021
Dear Kari, Thank you for your feedback . Of course we understand that you gave 1 star to the tour without participation because you didn't received refund. We have to remind you that you requested cancellation 2 hours before the tour therefore was not possible to refund you. From Sept 13 in Greece you cannot enter in museums , restaurants and in all closed area if you are not vaccinated or have negative rapid test which give results immidiately. When you called us and informed us that you are not vaccinated at 12:20 noon we recommended you to go to do the tests as you had enough time as the tour depart at 15:00. We came at your hotel but you were non show. regards Hara
Our tour guide did her...
, Sep 2021
Our tour guide did her best to share as much interesting information as possible about the various sites we passed by on our way to the Temple lf Poseidon and back. In the end, though, we felt like the departure back to Athens was unnecessarely rushed. We would have loved some 15 extra minutes to enjoy a coffee at the nearby bar, especially since in the end we arrived back to Athens more than an hour early.
Nice tour
, Sep 2021
Nice trip to Temple of Poseidon - the views were magnificent and the tour guide was knowledgeable. It was a nice way to see in person this part of Greek Mythology.
Excellent experience
, Aug 2021
This place is amazing with a wonderful sea view.. I really enjoyed the experience.. Highly recommended
1 traveler found this review helpful
Good tour of history
, Mar 2020
The Tour starts with a bus drive to the cape. While on the drive various buildings, and areas are pointed out as you drive by. Once at the cape the view is great and the tour guide provides an entertaining presentation of the history of the temple and area. Everyone is given time after the tour to wander the area to take pictures and admire the view. On the way back to Athens the bus driver will drop clients off at Plaka, or others areas that are on the way back to the start point; this was a great addition. Aside from the temple and the great view there is little else to see. Having a guide to explain the history added to the trip otherwise you are just standing looking at some pillars.
2 travelers found this review helpful
Good place, the tour could be a bit better
, Feb 2020
The place itself is very nice. And so was the drive to the temple. Our guide was very informative and friendly. Just one suggestion, it would be better if the tour could wait at the cape to watch the sunset. So they should decide to pickup/tour time accordingly. We left an hour before the sunset time and could not enjoy it. Also it would be great if the tour bus could stop somewhere along the road for a 10min photo stop of the cape and temple (there are designated places I saw along the road where it was possible to stop vehicles.). We missed 2 great photo opportunities due to this.
, Feb 2020
Great trip! Vicki filled the trip there with Greek history so we understood the context behind the temple when we arrived. The drive took about 90 mins each way and there's nothing to break it up except amazing sea views so if you struggle to sit still for 90 mins this might not be for you. But the end is worth it. The temple and surrounds are spectacular. If you want to see sunset at the temple, choose a tour which is specifically timed for sunset because the standard afternoon tours leave a little too early.
1 traveler found this review helpful
Excellent Experience!
Debajit G
, Dec 2019
This trip is 100% recommended. The sunset view from the temple was pretty dope! The guide was very good and gave us tons of information on the historic journey of Greece.
icon Response from Host , Dec 2019
Hello from Chat Tours, Thank you for your kind words. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your tour with us. With best regards, Kostas Papas

Compare Similar Experiences

Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens
Cape Sounion and Temple of Poseidon Half-Day Trip from Athens


4 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours 15 minutes

Free Cancellation



6 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



2 hours

Free Cancellation



4 hours

Free Cancellation



3 hours 50 minutes

Free Cancellation


Explore Similar Things to Do